

## CONGRATULATORY MESSAGE FROM THE ELECTORAL COMMISSION OF NAMIBIA (ECN)



On behalf of the ECN Commissioners and the entire ECN family, we wish to congratulate our Chairperson, Ms. Elsie Nghikembua on being duly nominated and elected to serve as the Executive Committee (EXCO) Chairperson of the Electoral Commissions Forum of SADC Countries (ECF-SADC). The EXCO will serve from 2022 – 2024 with members from IEC South Africa (Vice Chairperson), EBC –Eswatini, the CNE Mozambique, EC Seychelles, ZEC Zanzibar and ZEC Zimbabwe. The elective conference took place during the 24th Annual General Conference of the ECF-SADC held in Swakopmund on 26th October 2022.

The Electoral Commissions Forum of the SADC Countries (ECF-SADC) was launched in July 1998 and comprises of fifteen (15) SADC Member States' Electoral Commissions namely; Angola, Botswana, DRC, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Seychelles, Tanzania, Zambia, Zanzibar and Zimbabwe. The ECF-SADC Secretariat is based in Gaborone, Botswana. As per its Constitution, the mandate of ECF-SADC amongst others is to strengthen cooperation amongst Member Electoral Commissions as well as to promote conditions conducive to free, fair, credible and transparent elections in the SADC region.

The Annual General Conference is the policy-making body of the Forum. The Executive committee implements the decisions of the Conference and oversees the work of the Secretariat, which ensures that the mandate of the Forum is executed by way of managing programmes. The Forum recognises the responsibility placed on Electoral Management Bodies to ensure that the environment in which elections take place is conducive to the conduct of credible elections.

The Forums carries out activities such as regional workshops, the annual general conference, seminars, training, research, development of tools and setting frameworks standards, technical assistance to its member commissions, election observation missions, and partnership with other international organizations amongst others.

The Commission is proud of this achievement of the EXCO Chairperson, Ms. Elsie Nghikembua for participating in this election process for this critical position, as this achievement is for Namibia.