.Introduction

This information brochure has been specifically produced to inform the public on the Namibian electoral processes and to provide general information with regard to regional council and local authority elections. All information correct at time of print.

Mandate Of ECN

The Electoral Act, (Act No.5 of 2014) mandates the Electoral Commission of Namibia to organize, direct, supervise, manage and control the conduct of elections and referenda in a free. fair, independent credible, transparent and impartial manner as well as to strengthen constitutional democracy and to promote democratic electoral and referenda processes.

❖ REGIONAL COUNCIL ELECTION

Regional Councils consist of 1 member elected from each constituency by secret ballot. Every duly registered political party has the right to nominate a candidate to contest in order to be elected as a councilor for the constituency in which he/she resides. Individuals have also the right to contest as independent candidates and be elected as a councilor for their constituency.

LOCAL AUTHORITY ELECTION

Members to the local authority are elected by direct and secret ballot from the party list prepared by the contesting political parties, associations and organizations. Local authority elections are held to elect councilors of a specific local authority area. Subsequently, a local authority election is held when a new town or village is proclaimed.

Voting During Local Authority And Regional

Council Elections

For the Regional Councils and Local Authorities' elections, you must be in your constituency or local authority area where you were registered as a voter in order to vote.

Namibian electoral systems

An electoral system covers the legal and practical realities of voter registration and election administration, as well as the

precise rules and the method used to translate votes for candidates and/or parties in an election into an allocation of seats.

- ❖ The majoritarian or first-past-the-post electoral system is used during the regional councils' election. This system dictates that the candidate with the most votes wins the seat.
- The proportional representation electoral system is used for elections for members of the local authorities. In this system every political party/association/organisation intending to contest provides a list of its nominated candidates. Seats are allocated according to the number of votes received.

Registration Of Voters

7AMBF7I

Registration of voters in Namibia is a voluntary exercise and is a process by which Namibian citizens of voting age register to have his/her name included in the voters' register during the determined period of registration to participate in the elections.

Requirements To Register As A Voter

Any person who wishes to register as a voter must meet the following requirements:

- (a) he/she must be able to identify him/herself
- (b) he/she must be 18 years and older
- (c) he/she must be a Namibian citizen

Kabbe

Karibib

Omaruru

(d) he/she must be a resident in a local authority area for 12 consecutive months and longer (applicable on local authority elections only)

Constituencies And Local Authorities In Namibia CONSTITUENCY LOCAL AUTHORITY REGION

Katima Mulilo Rural Katima Mulilo Urban Kongola Linyanti Sibinda Judea Lyaboloma Kabbe South Katima Mulilo Bukalo **ERONGO** Arandis Dâures

General Information

Swakopmund Walvis Bav Rural Walvis Bay Urban Arandis Henties Bay Karibib Omaruru Usakos Walvis Bay Swakopmund Gibeon

Mariental Rural Mariental Urban Rehoboth Rural Rehoboth East Urban Rehoboth West Urban

Aranos Daweh Gibeon Gochas Kalkrand Maltahohe Mariental Rehoboth

//KARAS Berseba Karasburg

HARDAP

Keetmanshoop Rural Keetmanshoop Urban !Nami#Nûs

Stampriet

Oranjemund Karasburg West Berseba Bethanie Karasburg Keetmanshoop

Koes Luderitz Oranjemund

Tses KAVANGO WEST Kapako

Mpunau Musese Ncuncuni Mankumpi Ncamangoro Nkurenkuru Tondoro

KAVANGO EAST Mashare Mukwe

> Ndiyona Rundu Rural East

Rundu Rural West Rundu Urban Ndonga Linena

Samora Machel

Divundu KHOMAS John Pandeni Katutura Central Katutura East Khomasdal North Moses IGaroëb

Rundu

Nkurenkuru

Aranos

Aroab

Windhoek Rural KUNENE Epupa Kamanjab Khorixas Opuwo Opuwo Rural Outjo Sesfontein Khorixas Opuwo Outjo **OHANGWENA** Eenhana Endola Engela Epembe Ohangwena Okongo Omundaungilo Ondobe Ongenga Oshikango Oshikunde Helao Nafidi Okongo **OMAHEKE** Aminuis Epukiro Gobabis Kalahari Otjinene Okarukambe Steinhausen Leonardville Witvlei Otiinene **OMUSATI** Anamulenge Elim Etayi Ogongo Okahao Okalongo Onesi Oshikuku

Otamanzi

Outapi Ruacana

Tsandi

Oshikuku

Tobias Hainyeko

Windhoek West

Windhoek East

Outapi Ruacana Tsandi Okaku Okatana Okatyali Ompundja Ondangwa Ongwediva Oshakati East Oshakati West Uukwiyu Uuvudhiya Ondangwa Urban Ondangwa Onawediva Oshakati Eengodi Guinas Okankolo Olukonda Omuntele Omuthiyaqwiipundi Onayena Oniipa Onyaanya Tsumeb Nehale lyaMpingana Omuthiya Tsumeb OTJOZONDJUPA Grootfontein Okahandja Okakarara Omatako Otavi Otjiwarongo Grootfontein Tsumkwe Okahandia Okakarara

General Information Your V is your Voice

Electoral Commsion

GO REGISTER! GO VOTE! YOUR VOTE COUNTS!

Otavi

Otjiwarongo

Electoral Commission of Namibia

Tel: +264 61 376200 Fax: +264 61 224174 Private bag 13352

WINDHOEK

OSHANA

OSHIKOTO

Windhoek

Kamanjab

Eenhana

Gobabis

Okahao

Website: www.ecn.na