The Electoral Commission of Namibia (ECN) will be conducting a Supplementary Registration of  Voters (SRV) in Gobabis, Keetmanshoop Urban, Khomasdal, Oshikuku and Walvis Bay Urban
constituencies on 1st – 2nd November 2019. The by-elections for the five (5) constituencies where
necessitated by the resignations of the sitting councilors for the respective constituencies in
compliance with section 77 (4) of the Electoral Act, No. 5 of 2014 and the Namibian Constitution in order to qualify to be nominated as a candidate on a list of candidates for members of the National Assembly.

In terms of section 77 (4) of the Electoral Act, No.5 of 2014, ‘A person may only be nominated as a
candidate on a list of candidates if the person – (a) qualifies to be elected as a member of the National
Assembly by virtue of Article 46 (1) (a) of the Namibian Constitution.’ Article 46 (1) (a) deals with the
composition of the National Assembly and states inter alia, ‘subject to Article 47 hereof shall be eligible for candidature as a member of the National Assembly.’ Article 47 deals with disqualification of members and states that no person may become members of the National Assembly if they (e) are remunerated members of the Public Service of Namibia; or are members of the National Council, Regional Councils or Local Authorities.

The ECN is required in terms of section 63 (2) (b) of the Electoral Act to conduct a by-election where a vacancy occurs within a constituency. Furthermore, section 10 (3) of the Regional Council Act states that a casual vacancy in a regional council shall be filled within three months (90 days) after it has occurred.

In accordance with Section 38 (1) read together with Section 25 (2) of the Electoral Act, No. 5 of 2014, a Supplementary Registration of Voters (SRV) process must be conducted before any election. The SRV
is aimed at registering persons who qualify to be registered as voters and could not so have registered
during the last registration of voters in respect of which that voters register was prepared.
To register you need proof of identity, age and Namibian citizenship by producing one or a
combination of the following documents:

A Namibian identity document or
An old Namibian identity document or
A valid green Namibian passport or
Namibian Citizenship certificate and sworn
statements by two registered deponents.

Please note that this SRV only allows you to vote in the by- elections for councilors in the above mentioned constituencies taking place in January 2020 and not in the 2019 Presidential and National Assembly elections.
The ECN hereby urges all individuals who are eligible to be registered as voters in the Gobabis, Keetmanshoop urban, Khomasdal, Oshikuku and Walvis Bay Urban Constituencies to please go to the designated supplementary voter registration points as provided below in their different constituencies to register to vote.

Close Menu