Hyppää sisältöön


Chair Person: Adv. Notemba Tjipueja

Adv. Notemba Tjipueja, has been the Chairperson of the ECN since August 2011, on a part-time basis. As of 1 October 2015, she has been appointed in a fulltime capacity in terms of the new Electoral Act of 2014. Adv. Tjipueja has also served as a Commissioner of the ECN from 2000-2005, 2007-2011. Extensive electoral experience has been gained over the years through exercising the ECN mandate and attendance of various international, regional forums and various international and regional observer missions. She is currently also serving as Chairperson for the SADC Electoral Commissions Forum (ECF), which is a regional body for Electoral Commissions within the SADC region. Being a lawyer by profession with two LLB qualifications in British Common law and Roman Dutch law from the University of Papua New Guinea (Papua New Guinea) and the University of the Witwatersrand (South Africa) respectively, she is an admitted Attorney of the High Court of Namibia as of June 1994 and thereafter practiced as a State Advocate in the High Court and Supreme Court of Namibia for several years. Tjipueja has extensive legal experience ranging from company law, civil law to international law. Aspects of international law experience was gained during her tenure as the Director of the SADC Legal Sector responsible for legal advice to the international, Regional Body known as the Southern African Development Community (SADC). During this time, she was instrumental in the establishment of the SADC Tribunal in Namibia, an international court established by SADC to serve the SADC region. Tjipueja has served on numerous Boards and Professional Bodies in Namibia.

Commissioner: Mr. Barney Karuuombe

Barney Karuuombe holds a Master’s Degree in Development Administration and Management, University of Manchester and a Bachelor of Arts in Political Studies and Sociology from the University of Namibia. He has extensive regional experience in the area of elections, regional integration, governance and parliamentary systems and processes. Mr. Karuuombe has practical exposure of observing elections in the SADC region and is well versed with electoral instruments. He is employed by the Windhoek-based SADC Parliamentary Forum and is responsible for parliamentary training and the Forum’s parliamentary committee on trade, industry, finance and investment (TIFI) and that of Food, Agriculture and Natural Resources (FANR). Mr. Karuuombe has been appointed as a Commissioner from August 2011 to August 2016 and was re-appointed from September 2016 to date.

Commissioner: Mr. Ulrich Freyer

Mr. Ulrich Freyer holds a Master’s degree in Administration from the University of Western Cape and B-Tech in Public Management from the Technicon South Africa. He was appointed as a Lecturer/Senior Lecturer between 2004 – 2016 and prior thereof served several years as a Public Servant. Mr. Freyer has extensive electoral experience and has been appointed as a Commissioner in August 2011 until August 2016. He is currently serving his second term following his appointment in September 2016 to date. Mr. Freyer have represented the ECN on several regional and international observer missions, participated in several electoral platforms and reforms, conflict resolution, integration and governance issues.

Commissioner: Mrs. Albertina Nangolo

Alberthina Peneyambeko K. K. Nangolo is a holder of a Master’s Degree with specialization in Curriculum, Pedagogy and Assessment. She obtained her Master’s Degree in 2008 at the University of London. Ms. Nangolo served as a public service employee for several years until 2016. She served as a Commissioner from August 2011 until August 2016 and was re-appointed for a second term in September 2016 to date. Ms. Nangolo has gained vast experience in electoral management which she obtained throughout her tenure as a Commissioner and represented ECN on various platforms regionally and internationally.

Commissioner: Ms. Elsie  T. Nghikembua

Elsie Tuleingepo Nghikembua is a Namibian citizen who has a sound and solid academic background relating to issues of public administration and management. She also had the opportunity to serve as an academic at the University of Namibia and practitioner within the Namibian Public Service and Public Sector. Amongst her Executive experience is having served as the Director of Specialised Services at Parliament where her duties mainly included providing procedural advice and administrative support to the Members of Parliament in the Chamber and Standing Committees. Her Executive experience was further cemented when she was the Deputy Executive Director of the Namibia Institute of Public Administration and Management (NIPAM) and a Member of the NIPAM Governing Council; and Training and Development Board. From a Corporate Governance perspective, she served as Board Member of the Namibia Qualifications Authority (NQA) and the National Council for Higher Education (NCHE). Educationally, she holds postgraduate qualifications in Public Administration and Management and a Senior Executive Fellows Programme Certificate from the Harvard Kennedy School. On a personal note, she is a wife and a mother. Mrs. Nghikembua was appointed in September 2016 to date as a Commissioner and is currently serving her first term.


67 - 71 Van Rhijn Street, Windhoek North

Private Bag 13352, WINDHOEK, Namibia

+264 61 376 200

Email: info@ecn.na